2015 Publication

What Now? The Politics of Listening

Edited by Anne Barlow
An Art in General Publication
Paperback, English, 96 pp.
Black Dog Publishing, UK
ISBN-10: 1910433578
ISBN-13: 978-1910433577

Contributors: Anne Barlow, Lawrence Abu Hamdan, Council, Christoph Cox, Joshua Craze, Pablo Helguera, AJ Hudspeth, Naeem Mohaiemen, Laurie Jo Reynolds, Beatriz Santiago Muñoz, Kade L Twist.

To purchase on Amazon please click here or visit Art in General’s webstore

What Now? The Politics of Listening reflects on the 2015 symposium of the same title, organized by Art in General in collaboration with the Vera List Center for Art and Politics, which examined the idea of listening as a political act, a pedagogical process, and a protocol for engagement.

The publication prompts inquiry into what degree are we able to listen to different kinds of intelligences, and how can we incite receptivity? How do we address the fact that the right to listen is relative, and that the right not to listen, or to remain silent, is also a valid stance? Can we press on and position listening as a political act? And how do we further develop our ability to ‘listen for what is left out, and why’?

What Now? The Politics of Listening brings together a selection of transcripts from the 2015 symposium alongside newly commissioned essays and illustrated inserts that reflect on the breadth of issues covered.